

Ref:02/1/5/2

MINISTER

QUESTION NO. 1765 FOR WRITTEN REPLY: NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

A draft reply to Mr D J Stubbe (DA) to the above-mentioned question is enclosed for your consideration.

MS NOSIPHO NGCABA DIRECTOR-GENERAL

DATE:

DRAFT REPLY APPROVED/AMENDED

DR B E E MOLEWA, MP
MINISTER OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS

DATE:

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

(For written reply)

QUESTION NO. 1765 (NW1922E)

INTERNAL QUESTION PAPER NO.19 of 2018

DATE OF PUBLICATION: 01 June 2018

Mr D J Stubbe (DA) to ask the Minister of Environmental Affairs:

- (1) What number of legal landfill sites (a) existed in the Northern Cape and (b) received licences from her department to operate (i) in each of the past three financial years and (ii) since 1 April 2018;
- What (a) number of municipalities in the Northern Cape (i) comply with landfill legislation and (ii) are in possession of the requisite licence and (b) are the names of each municipality;
- (3) what (a) number of municipalities in the Northern Cape (i) do not comply with landfill legislation, (ii) do not have the requisite licence, (b) are the names of the specified municipalities and (c) are the reasons for operating landfill sites without licences?

1765. THE MINISTER OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS REPLIES:

- (1) (a) One hundred and sixty eight (168) landfill sites exists in the Northern Cape, of which 26 are private owned and 142 belongs to different municipalities.
 - (b) Minister has issued 128 licenses for landfill while MEC in Northern Cape issued 40 licenses
 - (i) MEC issued 11 Licenses in 2014/2015 financial year; 2015/16 MEC issued 4 Licenses; 2016/2017 MEC issued 24 Licenses. The minister issued 1 licence in 2015/2016 financial year. No licence was issued by the Minister for the landfill sites in 2016/2017 financial year.
 - (ii) MEC issued 01 Licence in 2017/2018. The Minister did not issue any licence in 2017/2018 financial year.
- (2) (a) There are 26 Municipalities in Northern Cape
 - (i) Twenty four (24) municipalities in the Northern Cape have licences, however, the sites are partially complying with the landfill legislation and/or licence/permit conditions.
 - (ii) 24 Twenty four (24) municipalities have licences.
 - (b) The following are the names of Municipalities that have licensed landfill sites: Richtersveld; Sol Plaatjie; Kamiesberg; Siyathemba; Kai !Garib; Ga-Segonyana; Emthanjeni; Nama Khoi; Kareeberg; Renosterberg; Gamagara; Dikgatlong; Magarageng; Phokwane; Joe Morolong; Hantam; Karoo Hoogland; Khai-ma; Siyancuma; Themelihle; Umsobomvu; Dwid kruiper; !Kheis; Kgatelopele.

- (3) (a) There are 26 Municipalities in Northern Cape
 - (i) 2.
 - (ii) 2
 - (b) Tsantsabane (Postmasburg site) and Ubuntu Local Municipalities (Richmonds site)).
 - (c) Funding and capacity constraints have been indicated for these sites not having licences in place.

---00000---