

Ref:02/1/5/2

MINISTER

## QUESTION NO. 148 FOR ORAL REPLY: NATIONAL COUNCIL OF PROVINCES

A draft reply to **Mr M Rayi (Eastern Cape: ANC)** to the above-mentioned question is enclosed for your consideration.

MS NOSIPHO NGCABA DIRECTOR-GENERAL

DATE:

DRAFT REPLY APPROVED/AMENDED

MRS B E E MOLEWA, MP MINISTER OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS

DATE:

NATIONAL COUNCIL OF PROVINCES (For oral reply)

QUESTION NO. 148 (CO405E) INTERNAL QUESTION PAPER NO. 27 of 2016

DATE OF PUBLICATION: 18 October 2016

## Mr M Rayi (Eastern Cape: ANC) to ask the Minister of Environmental Affairs:

(a) How does her department and the Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries ensure that their goals are not in conflict on management of the coastal zones (details furnished) and (b) what intergovernmental structures are in place to resolve disputes in this regard? CO405E

## 148. THE MINISTER OF ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS REPLIES:

The Department of Environment Affairs (DEA) and the Department of Agriculture Fisheries and Forestry (DAFF) have a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) since 2010. This MOU encourages that the Departments work together on sharing resources such as research equipment and also making staff expertise available. Staff from both Departments sit on joint working groups to advise on policy issues such as the Biodiversity Working Groups and Fishery Scientific Working Groups.

The DAFF is a member of the DEA Working Group 8 which is a formal structure for information sharing and cooperation and joint policy discussions on Oceans and Coasts matters. This group facilitates joint working and provides officials with a formal platform to engage on any technical matters and areas of potential conflict.

Similarly, the DAFF is a member of the DEA National Marine Spatial Planning Working Group, which is the primary technical group that will be developing Marine Area Plans.

To further promote cooperation and discussion on potential overlaps the DEA is also represented on the DAFF Intergovernmental Authorisations Committee for Aquaculture. This Committee facilitates the aquaculture approval processes.

---00000----