

Ref: O2/1/5/2

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY (For written reply)

QUESTION NO. 1075 (NW1370E)
INTERNAL QUESTION PAPER NO. 19 of 2020

**DATE OF PUBLICATION: 05 June 2020** 

## Ms A M M Weber (DA) to ask the Minister of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment:

- (1) With reference to her instruction to the Kendal Power Station in Mpumalanga, on 18 May 2020, to close down either unit 1 or 5 at the specified power station until they have been repaired and adhere to the minimum admissions of their Minimum Emission Standards (MES) licence, what were the real emissions of Particular Matter, Sulphur Dioxide and Nitrogen Oxide of the power station that lead to the closing of units 1 and 5 of the power station;
- (2) whether she will provide Ms A M M Weber with the report regarding the Minimum Emission Standards (MES) that was sent to the Centre for Environmental Rights; if not, why not; if so, what are the relevant details; and
- (3) whether she will provide Ms A M M Weber with the correct monthly MES for Particular Matter, Sulphur Dioxide and Nitrogen Oxide of each of the 15 coal-fired plants in the Highveld Priority area for the period 1 January 2019 until 31 May 2020; if not, what is the position in this regard; if so, what are the relevant details?

## 1075. THE MINISTER OF FORESTRY, FISHERIES AND THE ENVIRONMENT REPLIES:

The decision to instruct Kendal Power Station to shutdown units 1 and 5 was informed by the
excessively high particulate matter emissions emanating from the two units from June 2018
through to June 2019. During this period, the average monthly particulate matter emissions

ranged between 200 mg/Nm³ and 1600 mg/Nm³, while the emission limit imposed in the Atmospheric Emission License (AEL) is 100 mg/Nm³.

On the other hand, the monthly average emission levels for the same units between **January 2018** and **June 2019**, for both Sulphur Dioxide and Oxides of Nitrogen, were all in compliance with the AEL emission limits of **3500 mg/Nm³** and **1100 mg/Nm³** respectively.

- 2. The Department is not aware of the report that is being referred to in this question.
- 3. The Nkangala and Gert Sibande District Municipalities are the licensing authorities for the Eskom power stations located in the Highveld Priority Area, and emission reports are submitted to the municipalities as per the conditions in the relevant AELs. These municipalities are best positioned to provide such documents and other related information in this regard.

Regards

MS B D CREECY, MP

MINISTER OF FORESTRY, FISHERIES AND THE ENVIRONMENT

DATE: 19 6 2020